Skip to main content


Board Meeting Agendas/Notices

Board of Commissioners' Regular Meeting Agenda 10/21/20


Board of Commissioners

Whitman County Public Hospital District No. 3

Cherry Alice Van Tine, President
Term expires 2021

Cherry Alice Van Tine has served as Board Commissioner for Whitman County Public Hospital District No. 3 dba Whitman Hospital and Medical Center since 2003. A resident of Steptoe, WA she worked as a Medical Assistant for 39 years at Whitman Medical Group, 24 years as Dr. Tulin’s nurse and 15 years as Dr. Mellor’s nurse.

“Dr. Tulin and Gordon McLean encouraged me to file for Hospital Commissioner in 2003. I am so proud of our Hospital, the employees and the wonderful, first class care we give our patients. I feel it is part of my responsibility as a Commissioner to see WHMC continues to be the very best.”

Bob Vuletich, Vice President
Term expires 2023

Bob Vuletich has served as Board Commissioner for Whitman County Public Hospital District No. 3 dba Whitman Hospital and Medical Center since January of 2018.  Bob is a resident of Colfax WA and currently works as a pharmacist for Tick Klock Drug.

"WHMC is a vital part of our community.  As a Hospital Commissioner, it is a privilege to serve with such dedicated health care professionals.  Our goal is to continue to provide this excellent level of health care for our patients."

Georgie Leinweber, Secretary
Term expires 2023

Georgie Leinweber joined the ranks of hospital commissioners in 2018.  A graduate of the WSU College of Agriculture, she worked in Ag Research for WSU, and then retired from USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service after 26 years where she worked as a soil conservationist.

"We are so fortunate that with the foresight of so many before us, we have a beautiful hospital and a very professional staff.  I am honored to serve on this board and am dedicated to keeping our hospital as a resource for those in our community or for anyone wanting dedicated and professional care."

Martin Marler, Commissioner
Term expires 2021

Martin J. Marler has served as a Board Commissioner for Whitman County Public Hospital District No. 3 dba Whitman Hospital and Medical Center since 2006.  A resident of Colfax, WA he continues to farm, a forty-four year career.

“My primary reason to serve my community as a board commissioner was and is to help keep a top-rated hospital in Colfax to serve the needs of our hospital district”.

Alan Allbee, Commissioner
Term expires 2025

Alan J. Allbee is a newly elected commissioner to the district and has lived in the Colfax community since 2016. He has worked in retail management for 32 years and was involved in the Fire Service for over 15 years.

"The reason I became a board commissioner was to support Whitman Hospital and Medical Center and our healthcare professionals in providing high quality care for our patients. It is a privilege to work with our staff to keep WHMC a top rated hospital that has resources for our community."

Senior Leadership

Hank Hanigan, Chief Executive Officer
Hank Hanigan joined Whitman Hospital and Medical Center as Chief Executive Officer in 2014. Hank is a life-long resident of Washington and most recently worked as the Chief Operating Officer at WhidbeyHealth on Whidbey Island. He received his Master’s Degree from WSU-Vancouver and his Bachelor’s Degree from Gonzaga University. On the state level, Hank is an active member of Washington State Hospital Association’s Rural Hospital Committee. Locally he serves as a Board member of the Northwest Rural Hospital Network, the Whitman County Health Network, and the Colfax Rotary.

Abby Smith, Chief Financial Officer
Abby Smith joined Whitman Hospital and Medical Center as Chief Financial Officer in March 2018. Abby is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and received her Masters of Accountancy and Bachelor of Business Administration degrees from Gonzaga University.  Prior to joining Whitman Hospital she worked for a healthcare centered public accounting firm for 13 years assisting Critical Access Hospitals throughout the western United States in preparing Medicare cost reports, performing audits and providing financial and reimbursement consulting services.  A long-time resident of Whitman County, Abby is also a commissioner for Whitman County Public Hospital District #4 (Tekoa).


Charlene Morgan, Chief Nursing Officer
Charlene Morgan joined Whitman Hospital and Medical Center as Chief Nursing Officer in May 2019. Charlene has been a nurse for 27 years and received her Master’s Degree in Nursing Leadership and Management in 2008. Charlene comes to us from Louisiana and has a wide scope of experience in both large Tertiary and Critical Access facilities. Over the course of her career, Charlene also had the rare experience of having worked in many areas and positions in Healthcare from Nursing Assistant to Chief Executive officer. This experience gave her a deep appreciation for all members of the healthcare team and how important each one is to the function of the healthcare facility.

Debbie Hoadley, Executive Director of Ancillary Services
Debbie Hoadley joined Whitman Hospital and Medical Center in 1990. Debbie is the Director of Ancillary Services as well as the Director of Medical Staff Services at Whitman Hospital. In these roles, Debbie has many responsibilities and duties within the hospital, including overseeing the following ancillary departments: Laboratory, Imaging, Therapy, Food and Nutrition, Environmental, and Maintenance Services.

Debbie has been with Whitman Hospital for over 25 years, first serving as Director of Medical Staff, Risk Management, and Performance Improvement. She later added to her title the role of Manager of Health Information Management in 1992 and served in this position for 23 years before becoming the Director of Ancillary Services in 2015. Debbie received her degree from Boise State University in 1988.



Linda Bluhm, Executive Director of Quality
Linda Bluhm joined Whitman Hospital and Medical Clinics in January 2020. She received her Master’s Degree in Social Work in 1985 from Eastern Washington University and her Bachelor Degree in Social Science from Seattle University in 1967. Linda has worked in healthcare for over 40 years of which 28 years has been devoted to Quality Management and Improvement. Prior to joining Whitman Hospital and Medical Clinics, Linda has worked in hospitals in Eastern and Western Washington as a Chaplain, a Social Worker, and Quality Professional. Linda is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker, Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality, and a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives.

2020 WHMC Organization Chart